Breaking news and resources from across the industry.

Built by Blue Sound Construction, designed by MaKe Design, photos by Alex Hayden

2019 Primary Endorsements

Posted on Jul 16, 2019 in:
  • MBAKS News
  • AHC
  • Advocacy

Each election cycle, our Affordable Housing Council (AHC) interviews candidates at the city, county, and state levels to determine their degree of support for our industry.

The following candidates have received an AHC endorsement for the 2019 election cycle. 

Ballots will be mailed out Wednesday, July 17 and are due Tuesday, August 6. Your vote in support of AHC-endorsed candidates will go a long way toward affecting the outcome of these critical races. 

2019 Affordable Housing Council Endorsements
August 6 Primary Election
Jurisdiction Position Candidate
King County Council Dist. 2 Girmay Zahilay
King County Council Dist. 8 Joe McDermott
Snohomish County Council Dist. 2 Cecilia Wilson (D)
Snohomish County Council Dist. 3 Stephanie Wright (D)
Port of Seattle Commissioner Pos. 2 Grant Degginger
Bellevue City Council Pos. 1 John Stokes
Bellevue City Council Pos. 3 Stephanie Walter
Bellevue City Council Pos. 5 Janice Zahn
Bellevue City Council Pos. 7 Jennifer Robertson
Des Moines City Council Pos. 2 Luisa Bangs
Edmonds Mayor Mike Nelson
Federal Way City Council Pos. 3 Susan Honda
Kent City Council Pos. 1 Marli Larimer
Lynnwood City Council Pos. 5 Julieta Altamirano Crosby
Marysville City Council Pos. 5 Todd Fahlman
Mukilteo City Council Pos. 7 Joe Marine
North Bend Mayor Rob McFarland
Redmond Mayor Angela Birney
Stanwood City Council Pos. 6 Sid Roberts
November 5 General Election
Jurisdiction Position Candidate
King County Assessor John Wilson
King County Council Dist. 6 Claudia Balducci
Snohomish County Executive Dave Somers (D)
Snohomish County Sheriff Ty Trenary
Snohomish County Treasurer Brian Sullivan
Bothell City Council Pos. 2 Leigh Henderson
Everett City Council-at-Large Pos. 5 Scott Bader
Everett City Council-at-Large Pos. 6 Brenda Stonecipher
Everett City Council-at-Large Pos. 7 Judy Tuohy
Kirkland City Council Pos. 5 Neal Black
Kirkland City Council Pos. 6 Amy E. Falcone
Lynnwood City Council Pos. 6 George Hurst
Marysville Mayor Jon Nehring
Redmond City Council Pos. 1 Hank Myers
Renton City Council Pos. 4 Ryan McIrvin
SeaTac City Council Pos. 3 Peter Kwon
Port of Everett Commissioner Dist. 3 Glen Bachman

For dropbox locations, ballot questions, and more, visit King County Elections or Snohomish County Elections.


No candidate authorized this ad. It is paid for by Master Builders Assc of King & Sno Counties – Affordable Housing Council, 335 116th Ave SE, Bellevue, WA 98004. Top Five Contributors: Master Builders Assoc., Village Life Inc., Blackwood Builders Group, Oakpointe, Big Mountain Enterprises


Help us build a sound future.

Photo courtesy Blue Sound Construction, builder; MaKe Design, architect; and Alex Hayden, photographer